S3Sync.net

General Category => Feature Requests => Topic started by: fredo on December 07, 2007, 05:00:34 AM



Title: Using S3Sync through a proxy server
Post by: fredo on December 07, 2007, 05:00:34 AM
Unless I am mistaken, s3sync will not work if you have to go through a proxy server to reach the net.

A quick modification solved that for me (although it seems to break the --progress option  ;D).

In AWSAuthConnection::initialize

replace
Code:
        @http = Net::HTTP.new(server, port)

with
Code:
        if $PROXY_HOST
          @http = Net::HTTP::Proxy($PROXY_HOST, $PROXY_PORT, $PROXY_USER, $PROXY_PASS).new(server, port)       
        else
          @http = Net::HTTP.new(server, port)
        end

And set the constants $PROXY_HOST, $PROXY_PORT, $PROXY_USER, $PROXY_PASS in your config.yml file.

Besides the --progress having no effect apparently, the rest seems to work fine.


Title: Re: Using S3Sync through a proxy server
Post by: ferrix on December 07, 2007, 07:47:24 AM
Well I should be able to make proxy work right.  I'll add it to the list of stuff for the next update.


Title: Re: Using S3Sync through a proxy server
Post by: ferrix on January 06, 2008, 11:52:25 AM
Will be fixed today; see announce.